Things Career Related

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard, “I can’t sell myself. I just can’t brag.” This coming from jobseekers in my workshops, I understand their consternation yet can’t feign empathy. This would be a disservice to them, to all jobseekers.

There are two undeniable truths. First, if you don’t sell yourself, no one will. It’s like waiting for Prince Charming to arrive or waiting for a job to jump in your lap, none of which are going to happen.

Second, no one is asking you to brag, not even the employer. He’s asking you to promote your accomplishments and relate your skills to the job at hand. No one likes a braggart.

So how do you sell yourself? Selling yourself is going to involve developing a campaign that requires you to use your verbal and written communication skills.

Written skills

Most believe, understandingly so, that your résumé and cover letter…

View original post 415 more words

